

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

November 8, 2024

Faculty Senate Chair: Jinger Doe

Executive Committee member, Academic Standards and Assessment Chair

Martha Johnson-Olin

Executive Committee member, Salary, Benefits and Budget Chair

Bradley Summerhill

Part-Time Faculty Committee Chair Matt van den Berg

Senators At-Large: **Amber Burroughs** Kyle Cassinelli

Maggie Eirenschmalz **Katie Paul**

Senators for Biology: Laura Briggs Jon Lau

Senators for Humanities:

Tom Cardoza **Nancy Faires**

Senators for Social Sciences: Marynia Giren-Navarro Joylin Namie

Senators for Part-Time Faculty:

David Pinkston Jennifer Salisbury Faculty Senate Chair-elect: Joseph Sanpietro

Executive Committee member, Curriculum **Review Chair**

Stephanie Mead

Administrative Faculty Committee Chair

Katie Paul

Recognition & Activities Committee Chair Olga Katkova

Senators for Allied Health: Stephanie Mead Rori Wilkis

Senators for English: Martha Johnson-Olin

Senators for Math: Frank Amankonah Lars Jensen

Sabrina Ladd

Senators for Technical Sciences:

Deysi Montes-Castillo **Kelly Oswald**

Classified Council Representative

Jen Friend

Past Chair **Rick Bullis**

Executive Committee member, Professional Standards Chair

Karen Wikander

Learning Commons Committee Chair Fred Lokken

WebCollege Faculty Advisory Committee Chair

Frank Amankonah

Senators for Computer Technology

Steve Bale

Senators for History, Political Science

& Law: Fred Lokken **Dustin Moore**

Senators for Physical Sciences:

Olga Katkova Dan Loranz

Senators for Visual and Performing

Arts: Fe Danger **Ted Owens**

Student Government Representative

Standing Committee Reports

Academic Standards and Assessment Committee - Martha Johnson-Olin

The committee has not met since the last Faculty Senate Meeting. The committee next meets November 15, 2024.

Administrative Faculty Committee - Katie Paul

The committee met on October 18 and chose to table merit until Fall 2025. They continue working on Administrative EEnEd()-5.a

A subcommittee will be convening to align the new QM Rubric with online teaching standards. Frank brought a motion from the committee to be approved at Senate. Elyssia Fraga also gave a demonstration of the features listed in the motion.

Original Motion: To turn on Discussion Summary and Rubric Enhancement/Design features in Canvas now. The Senate proposed wording changes to the motion for clarity.

Amendment to the Motion: To turn on Discussion Summary and Rubric Enhancement/Design features in Canvas at this time; these features would be off by default and require individual faculty to turn them on in their course. The motion passed.

Ts(s)7c002