Executive Committee member, Academic Standards and Assessment Chair

Executive Committee member, Curriculum **Review Chair** Katie Kolbet

Past Chair Virginia Irintcheva

Executive Committee member, Professional Standards Chair

Tara Connolly

Senator for Allied Health:

Rori Wilkis

Steve Bale

Julie McMahon

Committee Chair Blisin Hestiyas Senators for Technical Sciences:

WebCollege Faculty Advisory

Jeremy Coggin Wyatt Ziebell

Amanda Stibick Senators for Biology: James Kuzhippala

Senators At -Large:

Sharif Rumjahn

Senators for History, Political Science

& Law: John Kemp

Kofi Poku

Jinger Doe

Ben Davis

Jennifer Pierce

Adine Stormoen

Senators for Humanities: Gabriel Chavez

Nancy Faires

Senators for English: Lenaya Andersen Karen Wikander

Senators for Math: Rebecca McCleary Lars Jens en

Senators for Physical Sciences:

Sameer Bhattarai Michael Leonard

Senators for Part -Time Faculty:

Cara Dopf **Gus Stuart** Senators for Social Sciences: Marvnia Giren- Navarro

Senators for Computer Technologies:

Haley Orthel - Clark

Classified Council Representative

Sarah Gill

Senators for Visual and Performing

Arts: Candace Garlock

Ron Marston

Student Government Representative

John Fenton

Absent: Steve Bale, John Fenton

Guests: YeVonne Allen, Joe Anderson, Sam Byington, Jeffrey Alexander, Amber Anaya,

Elena Bubnova, Sam Byington

Chavez- Camarena, Alexander Day, Ana Douglass, Julia Hammett, Ashlyn Herold, Karin Hilgersom, Thomas Kearns, Kate Kirkpatrick, Sarah Krutz, Stephanie Mead, Olga Mesina, Deysi Montes, Jim New,

Crista Jorgensen, Alex Oliva, Melissa

, Yuli

Olsen, Bill Proeb stel, Roger Putnam, Gwendolyn Raubolt, Nicole Scollard

, Kim Studebaker

The meeting was called to order at 12:30 p.m.

Chair's Report – Amy Cavanaugh

Senate Chair Amy opened her report with the meeting protocols . She let everyone know the Chancellor was unable to attend due to illness. We will invite him a Faculty Senate meeting next semester .

Board of Regents (BOR) / NSHE Update: The Nevada Faculty Alliance (NFA) Contract was approved at the December BOR. Highlights included in the contract are new office hours and one -time awards to faculty. A workshop will be offered during Professional Development Days that will cover the new changes in the contract. The student fee of \$10 per semester was approved along with several program items. Regent Brooks was elected as Chair and Regent Arrascada was elected as Vice Chair.

who have appropriate mediation training, and at least half of which come from the ranks of faculty.

Similarly, change section 3 of the process from,

3. If a paid mediation is the only option and the employee requesting mediation is unwilling to pay 50% of the cost of external mediation, the Director of Human Resources or designee will identify a list of three mediators from the employees of TMCC who have appropriate mediation training and are willing/available to serve as a mediator. The process will then proceed as in section 1.a and 1.b.

Senat or Lars Jensen moved and Senator Nancy Faires seconded the amended motion

It was requested to provide more time to review the proposed amendment and table this motion

Final motion: Senator Gus Stuart moved and Senator Lars Jensen seconded to table the motion and amendment in order to provide the Senate body adequate time to review the proposed changes. The motion passed with 24 ayes, 1 nay, and 2 abstentions.

Standing Committee Reports

Academic Standards and Assessment Committee – Jinger Doe

The committee met on November 18 and reviewed Critical thinking and Gen Ed Outcomes . The SLO website will be reviewed along with the committee's section of the bylaws. The committee's next meeting is January 20, 2023.

Professional Standards – Marynia Gire n-Navarro

The committee met today and had Jim New and Beth Humphries provide an update of the NFA Contact changes. The committee also discussed the student evaluations close date, digital binders, and visits from deans, chairs, and coordinators to online c lasses. Marynia also let everyone know her term will be complete this Spring and she does not plan to run for a second term . The committee's next meeting is February 10, 2023.

Administrative Faculty Committee – Ben Davis

The committee last met on Novembe r 18, 2022. Ben reviewed the minor change to the Administrative Faculty Forms. committee is continuing to research position classification of Administrative Faculty, creation of a diversity statement, and how to communicate the activities of the committee. The committee next meets on December 16, 2022.

Curriculum Review Committee – Katie Kolbet

Katie thanked the Senate for approving all the curriculum decision items on today's consent agenda. The committee meets February 10, 2023 and the last day to submit changes for the February meeting is January 13, 2023.

Katie brought a requirement change for community colleges from the Board of R egents . She provid1 (d)]TJ (c)5 7brnms3 (i)-g.4 (em)1

Rev.: 2/21/2023

The

40 units of upper -division credits

Proposed change to catalog for Bachelor's degrees:

The Bachelor of Science (BS) and the Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) degree programs are included under the accreditation of Truckee Meadows Community College. Bachelor's degrees are designed to grow professional skills and respond to the demand for highly technical professionals in the workplace. Bachelor's degrees contain a minimum of 40 — upper division—units, and 32 units 30 upper -division credits that must be earned at TMCC.

Learning Commons Committee – John Kemp

The committee has not met since the last Faculty Senate Meeting. The committee's next meeting is February 2, 2023.

Part -Time Faculty Committee - Pat Mille r

The committee met today . They are supportive of the Senate's request to examine the Faculty Senate Bylaws as they pertain to the Part- Time Faculty Committee. Pat reported there are now plenty of nominees for the Part- Time Faculty of the Month award due to the committee's work to reword the nominations process. Pat's term as chair is ending in May and the committee will begin nominations for a new chair in the Spring. The committee's next meeting is February 10, 2023.

Recognition and Activities – Tara Connolly

Read by Senate Chair Amy Cavanaugh: The committee met earlier this week to start planning for the spring semester . The